1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

The DRRI don't cut it

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Leon Grizzard, May 18, 2014.

  1. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,329
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    NiceTele, don't tell me you are driving a hybrid vehicle, too, instead of one of those fire-breathing Holden cars? Just kidding....the modeling stuff is getting better and better, no doubt.
     
  2. pmcgee

    pmcgee Tele-Meister

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    Leon I think you already have what you are looking for.That being the Twin.. They are a bit heavy but it is worth toting it around. I have tried the DRRI reissue and found it fell a bit short of clean power on a lot of stages. You are also at the mercy of the bass player and the drummer who a lot of times get louder as the show goes on.
    It is frustrating to play live and not be able to hear yourself the way you want to..I found the DRRI after changing tubes and trying a couple of different speakers and colder biasing the end result was basically the same.
    I like to play clean sound most of the time. No breakup at all. A lot of guys like the DRRI for the very reason that it gets very warm sounding and starts to break up at stage volume. And they do sound really good at that volume and louder. So depends on the person.
    Someone mentioned putting the amp through the monitors. Yes that will do it alright.. Personally I do not like the tone of my amp through my monitor at least most times. So I try to avoid it. If the other guys in the band want to hear my guitar in their monitor go for it.
    I had a hernia operation last year,(not from carrying the Twin LOL)and I am 60 years old, and still haul the Twin around.. It is worth it to me. And I can always get help with it..When you are my age there is always someone younger in the band than I am.
    Keep the Twin and the DRRI for smaller gigs. You got the best now. IMHO
     
  3. nosuch

    nosuch Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,755
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Cologne
    I don't think so. You may get some special effects by running two vibrato/tremolo effects not synchroniced, maybe with different speeds. That could be fun, but I never tried (I don't use the effects much anyway).
    What you get by playing two amps is more spread - similar to your twin, when you put them close together or even more spacious if you set them up with some distance.
    Bill Frisell always uses two amps and he always has that impression of space in his sound. I think he uses a digital reverb to split the signal but you can also just daisy-chain them. Run the guitar to the channel you want to use and then a cable from the second input of the same channel to the second amp. You can even add more amps if you please.
    You may run into hum problems (it never happened to me) which can be solved by using a splitter instead of daisy chaining. Just try it with your deluxe and your twin and you'll know :).
     
  4. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,329
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    Way higher in the thread I think we solved it at lowest possible cost to the OP. Split the Twin into a head and cabinet. Done. You get the exact sound you want and divide the weight into two manageable loads.

    Gee, come to think of it, maybe I should start keeping my eye out for a Twin so I can do that, too!
     
  5. pmcgee

    pmcgee Tele-Meister

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
     
  6. akukulich

    akukulich Tele-Meister

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    This is exactly what I was going to suggest. You can cover a lot of ground with this amp and you won't ruin your back moving it.
     
  7. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,329
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    Don't cut her up! Keep the original enclosure, buy pre-built cabinets for head and speakers. Just transplant her over and you can put her back to original vintage spec anytime you want to.
     
  8. pmcgee

    pmcgee Tele-Meister

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    Good to know..I did not know you could buy those pre built.. Thanks for the info..Phil
     
  9. Leon Grizzard

    Leon Grizzard Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,733
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I had that same concern about the Twin. Didn't know there were ready-mades. Couldn't cut up my Twin.
     
  10. ThermionicScott

    ThermionicScott Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    6,147
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    CID
  11. DaBender

    DaBender Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    1,509
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Maine
    Funny, I was at a jam I've been attending for years last night and noticed that the old Peavey bass amp now had a head sitting on it. A closer look revealed the amp had been taken out of it and it was just serving as a speaker cab - no blocking needed!
     
  12. Leon Grizzard

    Leon Grizzard Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,733
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Those ready-mades are expensive; not necessarily pricey, but expensive.

    Although if you just got the head cab and used the original enclosure that wouldn't be too bad.
     
  13. soggybottomboy

    soggybottomboy TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    Quilter 2x10"... seriously.

    Great pricing, loud as all heck and the chime is there. Seriously.

    Give it a shot and if you don't like it, send it back to them at basically zero cost to you. You can't lose.
     
  14. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    12,997
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    If you can find one a silverface Showman Reverb head cab is all you need. If your real lucky you might get the whole head pretty cheap.
     
  15. Leon Grizzard

    Leon Grizzard Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,733
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I did look at Quilters some months back, just out of curiosity. Seems like good amps but I was thinking about my present needs; just looking.

    And what I did last week was buy a used Custom Vibrolux Reverb. I shipped the chassis off to Wally Von Lubbock for mods. It should hit town tomorrow and we'll see.
     
  16. garytelecastor

    garytelecastor Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,400
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    On the Bayou in da Tundra
    GB said just what I was thinking. You could get an AB box and plug C80 and the DRRI in to A and B of the pedal. Run the signal in from the guitar and crank the babies up.
    I know that with the Cube 80 you have a lot of clean headroom.
    One other thing is you could put one amp on either side of the stage and this will greatly open the sound.

    If it were me, I would try this first, then I would go for the Mustang IV.
    I would go for the Mustang IV anyway, but this is an easy cheap and effective way to answer your problem.

    You might try the Cube with the Twin using this too.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.