The "Custom Shop" Twisted Tele Pickup Set

Discussion in 'Fender Custom Shop Tele Forum' started by Buckaroo, Jan 18, 2019.

1. Buckaroo

Buckaroo Tele-Meister

Not all Twisted Tele sets are created equal so it would seem. The stock accessory set from Fender is different than the hand wound sets found on some Custom Shop special orders.

If you buy a set of Fender Twisted Tele pickups, as an accessory, you will likely get these well made and good sounding machine wound pickups from Fender, with a flat (flush) pole bridge pickup):

https://shop.fender.com/en-US/acces...tom-shop-twisted-tele-pickups/0992215000.html

However, if you buy a Custom Shop Tele with a "hand wound" Twisted Tele pickup set they may be a little different. They will likely be similar to what Mike Eldrid describes in this video from 2012:

I offer all of this becuase I was a bit confused when I got my new Paul Waller Masterbuilt '54 Tele and found that the Twisted Tele set had staggered poles on the bridge pickup...different than the aftermarket accessory twisted Tele pickup set. My guitar'ss Travel Sheet specifies "hand wound Josefina Twisted Tele pickups". Both pickups are signed and dated by her. The second video link above explains that by 2012, Paul Waller had developed a bridge pickup that he paired with the existing Twisted Tele neck pickup design.

Last edited: Jan 19, 2019
    OldDude2 likes this.
  2. yyr123

yyr123 TDPRI Member

Cool

3. yyr123

yyr123 TDPRI Member

Cool

4. yyr123

yyr123 TDPRI Member

Cool

5. yyr123

yyr123 TDPRI Member

Cool

6. elementfrvr

elementfrvr TDPRI Member

Is it cool?

7. NiceTele

NiceTele Tele-Afflicted

Sounds cool to me, but surely the hand-wound doesn't mean someone sat there and wound 1000s of turns of wire by hand...I suspect a pickup winding machine was involved somewhere!

Kreepy likes this.
  8. yyr123

yyr123 TDPRI Member

I have no idea what happened back there, I am guessing it was a glitch in the Matrix