The Circle of 5ths

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by rough eye, Jun 30, 2020 at 7:21 PM.

1. rough eye

rough eye Tele-Meister

2. nojazzhere

nojazzhere Doctor of Teleocity

Interesting, and I would say reasonably succinct.
    Most musicians come from one of two worlds in music.....self-taught, learn by ear.....or formal training, "educated". (for lack of a better term) I'm fortunate that I come from both. I began formal training and lessons at a very early age, with piano and violin lessons and incredible choral training by a master choir director at church. But I was also bitten by the folk music bug in my pre-teens, and then R&R as I was hitting my teens, and that was all learning by ear and simply "figuring" stuff out on guitar. At one point, I was studying violin with a professor of violin at TCU, and he was also Concert Master with the Ft Worth Symphony Orchestra. One lesson, he decided to throw in some theory, and drew out the circle of fourths and fifths for me to study and memorize. I looked at it a second, and then said I know all these. Every folk and rock song I ever learned was based on (usually) I, IV, V, I......and the relative minors. I didn't know it was CALLED the circle of fifths, but I knew it anyway. He laughed, and removed the page he'd written on, and proceeded to quiz me on everything. Some of them I had to mentally finger a guitar fingerboard to know them, but he was impressed that I had this very basic and fundamental knowledge down. To me this simply demonstrates that even untaught self-learners know more music theory than they often suspect.

Jerry_Mountains, BB and Steve Holt like this.
  3. rough eye

rough eye Tele-Meister