Telenator Wide Range Humbuckers

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by chucksmi, Feb 14, 2009.

1. chucksmi

chucksmi Tele-Meister

I just got a chance to try out the Telenator Wide Range Humbuckers in a live gig situation.

Let me put it this way - these are not only far and away the best Wide Range Humbuckers I've ever played, they are among the best pickups I've ever played.

That's saying a lot, so why did I say it?

First off, I am a gigging player, I've been doing this for many, many years, and I've seen, heard, and read all the snake oil claims enough to see them come and go, and then come and go again. So, I guy hands me a guitar and tells me it has a few hundred dollars worth of pickups, and I'm like "well, that's nice. But does it sound good?"

I was playing them through my Deluxe Reverb reissue, which is a very nice amp. It's been tweaked and sounds about as nice as any Deluxe Reverb. Speaker is well broken-in and it's a great amp to test things with.

First off, these thing are so dynamic it took me a minute to get the feel of them.

Why do I think they are so great? Easy, the Tele had more bottom punch than any I've ever played. But it wasn't boomy or flabby. They were tight and extremely articulate even on the lowest notes on the neck. And even when doing runs that went from the open strings to the high frets, they were uncannily balanced and clear. With or without overdrive, these pickups just stayed rich and offered that perfect mix of grind and cut. They are lively and musical. And honestly, they are inspiring. They are fun to play.

They are completely responsive to the guitar's controls. Rolling off the volume cleans them up, and they are happy with the tone control turned down. They make the guitar sound big and full at low volumes.

My hat is off to Telenator, these pickups really deliver. When you play them you can tell a lot of work went into getting them right.

2. Telenator

Telenator Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member