Telecaster with Soft V

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by HighlonesomeF5, Aug 31, 2019.

1. HighlonesomeF5

HighlonesomeF5 TDPRI Member Silver Supporter

Went to GC to check out a tele Am Pro to see if I like the deep c neck. Im new to electrics. I also looked at a Eric Clapton Strat, Gretsch 5420, PRS S2.
    Well didn't like the scale length on the Gretsch and PRS or the Deep C. To my surprise i liked the strat neck snd sound much better! It seemed to have more twang than the tele. Have I lost my mind? Do any tele come with a soft v-neck? I am more into good country than hard rock and generally love Steve Wariner and Vince Gill.

2. Fluddman

Fluddman Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

Brad Paisley tele has a soft V (I have one and the V is subtle and perhaps it varies from guitar to guitar).

Seasicksailor and coloradojeff like this.
  3. raysachs

raysachs Friend of Leo's

The 50's Baja neck is called a soft V, but it honestly never felt like one to me. NOTHING like a Clapton strat, which is a pretty sublime feeling neck if you like tiny little frets....

gwjensen likes this.
  4. VWAmTele

VWAmTele Friend of Leo's

Get the EC Strat - the only guitar I regret selling.

Clifton C and Chicago Matt like this.
  5. Milspec

Milspec Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

All this talk about neck profiles does you no good in my view. A "soft V" means something different to every neck builder and some are more of a D profile or has huge shoulders...no 2 seem to be alike. You really have to get your hands on a neck to see if it fits your hand and style, just no other way about it.

Like was already noted, the Baja neck really doesn't feel like a soft V due to the shoulder size, but it is what they call it. That same description in a warmoth neck will not feel the same. If you liked the strat neck so much, no reason you can't put that neck on a telecaster body...many have including Clapton.

6. Chicago Matt

Chicago Matt Friend of Leo's