1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Telecaster Player Series single coil 500k pot?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by medcall, Jan 25, 2021.

1. medcall

medcall TDPRI Member

Hello everyone!
    I am new to the forum. Hi to everyone!
    English is not my native language so my writing might sound odd once in a while.

I have a Telecaster Player Series SC and I find it really comfortable to play. I like the neck profile and how it feels ergonomically although many people consider playing telecaster as something uncomfortable. I also bought a Vintera 70 s deluxe and it is supposed to arrive this week. :p

I just wanted to share some thoughts and see if someone has the same experience.
    I am not technically savy but a friend of mine is a luthier so I tried different combinations of pickups and pots in different guitars.
    When I discovered that changing pots to a higher value could bring a guitar back to life ( brighter , livelier, and with a little bit more of volume and character ) I started doing it so , as a cheaper solution for guitars instead of swapping pickups.
    I had a bad result with an Affinity telecaster where i put 500k and did not like the result. Too trebly and shrill without harmonics. I must say it was not much better with 250k even tough I changed at the same time the pickups for a Fender 64 set. I ended up selling the guitar and now I am thinking of installing 300k or 500k for volume pot in my Player Series.