Telecaster or Mustang?

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by saucetray, Apr 6, 2017.

1. saucetray

saucetray TDPRI Member

So I'm pretty new to electric guitars (I've been playing acoustic for a few years and I've gotten pretty good) and I'm thinking of getting my first one. Right now I have about a $400 budget and I'm stuck between the Squier Classic Vibe Vintage Blonde Tele and the Squier Vintage Modified Mustang. I like the shorter scale and uniqueness of the Mustang, but the Telecaster is tried and true.

I play a variety of music and I'd like an electric for playing stuff like indie, classic rock, jazz, etc. I'm also planning on getting the EHX Turnip Greens pedal (Holy Grail Max reverb + Soul Food Overdrive) as well as a chorus pedal (hopefully the Boss CE-2). Which guitar should be more suited for my needs? Are there any other guitars that would be better?

2. Piggy Stu

Piggy Stu Friend of Leo's

I think a telecaster is no 1 starter guitar to learn to both play on and guitar tech. It is built like a tuition aid

I eventually found my main advice on guitar is DO NOT have a tremolo on any guitar, and try to get the instrument style that played the music you love, whether hollowbody/solid/p90/humbucker. Making a ham sandwich is hard if you started with sliced chicken

There are starter versions of all types, and if you can cope with the indignity of someone else playing it for 30 mins and reselling it, you can pick up a lot of abandoned unused learner instruments used. I bet I bought guitars off shelf in store used more than a lot of used sales

PigBoy and saucetray like this.
  3. tery

tery Poster Extraordinaire

Welcome to TDPRI :) ... I like Telecasters .

4. 66Satellite

66Satellite Tele-Holic

If you like the shorter scale get the Mustang. Mustang was my first electric, cool little guitar. Gave my old one (early 70s model) to my daughter. That said, it's hard to go wrong with a Tele and you'll probably end up with one anyway...