Tele with NON-master Tone Pot?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by merseymale, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    Hi!
    Can a Pickup 1st go just to one tone control and then into a shared volume?

    Is a tele with a master volume but one pickup only tone possible? I’d like to dial-in(preset?) some ‘warmth’ into the shrill Pup @TheBridge to take some edge off but am only familiar with three different set ups that include master volume with a single tone and they all seem to affect both pickups

    I want the Neck pickup to be unloaded and wide open

    does anyone have any ideas?
     
    Fretting out likes this.
  2. SixStringSlinger

    SixStringSlinger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,956
    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Space
    I don't know how to accomplish exactly what you describe, but a no-load tone pot on "10" is effectively removed from the circuit, so using that will allow you to use a standard Tele wiring scheme and still have the neck pickup wide open as well as a tone pot on the bridge pickup.

    You'd need to be quick if you're one to change pickups mid-song, though.
     
  3. Fretting out

    Fretting out Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    1,376
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Location:
    Land of Mary
    Doesn’t the original wiring have a setting with neck with no tone control

    Broadcaster wiring ?

    I don’t know how you can get it to work in your application though

    And in the broadcaster it’s a blend instead of tone pot

    Or maybe you can use pre 66 wiring and not put the bassy sounding cap and have no tone control on the neck

    I think you’re answer may be in those two designs I’m just not smart enough to figure it out
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2019
    merseymale likes this.
  4. TigerG

    TigerG Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    Nashville
    Here's a wiring scheme that'll get you the tone control only when the switch is set to the bridge pickup (not on the neck pickup nor in the middle both-pickup position).

    TeleWiringToneOnBridgeOnly.png
     
    LutherBurger and Fretting out like this.
  5. PigBoy

    PigBoy Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    8373D713-6F09-4842-8B35-1DE1DC8CBEAA.gif
     
    gregulator450 and BCblues55 like this.
  6. jhundt

    jhundt Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    11,623
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Netherlands
    yeah, I used to have mine set up that way. I also once had it wired to use the tone pot for both pickups, but with different caps on each pickup. I don't have the schematics handy, but I know it can be done. I'm pretty sure that both of these designs came to me through this forum, many years ago.
     
  7. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    Good points but I kind of want to have tone on bridge adjustable without muddying up the neck pickup...
    Thanks though!
    :)
     
  8. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    You&Me both!
    But you got further than me!!
     
  9. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    Hmmm... and this WON’T affect tone?
    Will try soon Ta
     
  10. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    I see...
    But if the tone and vol is bridged by the Cap’ won’t it affect the neck too?
     
  11. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    Thanks -that’s encouraging- let me know if you remember more, please.
     
  12. otterhound

    otterhound Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,715
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Location:
    Manheim Pa.
    I have built with a bridge pickup only that was wired directly to the jack . No load at all and pure sound . I liked this very much .
     
  13. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    I got the following from DiMarzio:

    “It's possible, but the tone control will affect both pickups when they are on together. That is unavoidable. The attached diagram shows the tone control assigned to the bridge pickup.

    DiMarzio Inc.”
    upload_2019-12-2_1-21-9.png

    ...But I can’t help thinking that a resistor placed across a pickup’s positive and negative wires would reduce just that pickup alone so a variable resistor -a pot- would too

    it follows that adding a cap to that pot would only vary that pickup’s tone, not volume, so why is it IMPOSSIBLE?

    anyone tried anything like this yet?
     
  14. TigerG

    TigerG Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    Nashville
    Not sure what you mean. It will affect the tone of the bridge pickup but not the neck pickup.
    Also, it has no effect on the tone when the switch is in the middle position (both pickups).
     
    merseymale likes this.
  15. TigerG

    TigerG Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    Nashville
    DiMarzio's diagram shows a Gibson-type toggle switch, which is a different beast than a Tele blade switch.
    Which kind of switch are you using?
     
    merseymale likes this.
  16. EsquireOK

    EsquireOK Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    It is easy to do this, but with modern switching, you also get the tone control when you have both pickups on. All you have to do is connect the wire that goes to the tone pot to the same lug to which the bridge pickup hot wire is connected – instead of to a lug that carries the master output of the entire switch.

    Master tone controls are one of my pet peeves about the way guitars tend to be wired from the factory. It’s really an impediment to dialing in a guitar nicely without needing to do on-the-fly knob fiddling.
     
  17. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    Really? Then that’d be PERFECT thanks!
     
  18. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    I’m using a rotary that copies the ‘4-way tele switch mod’ but I was hoping to add a separate tone before it so as to only affect one pickup
     
  19. tfarny

    tfarny Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,046
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Location:
    Hudson Valley, NY
    Gibsons all have separate tone controls for each pickup. The key is to go first to the tone control from the bridge pickup and from there to the switch.
     
    gregulator450 likes this.
  20. merseymale

    merseymale Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    LIVERPOOL
    I Know what you mean…!
    (Except the “easy” bit!!)

    I want to be able to set a clear amp tone for the back pick up but then not suddenly be shrill later for the bridge pickup
    or I want the bridge to truly be able to complement the neck when both are on
    or getting the amp just nice for the bridge pick up then not enter mudsville when going to the neck:cry:
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.