1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Tele S1 switch help!

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by cemsky, Mar 5, 2017.

  1. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    hi all,
    Just got a fully loaded baja control plate with 4 way selector and S1 switch to replace my stock Standard MIM one.
    I have followed original Baja wiring diagram and now I have the following issues:

    S1 switch cuts the sound completely when pressed on ALL switch positions and it looks like I only get bridge pickup on 1&2 and neck pickup on 3&4 switch positions. So no parallel and serial??

    Any help will be much appreciated!

    I will post the photo in a minute...
     
  2. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    IMG_1390.JPG
     
  3. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    IMG_1389.JPG
     
  4. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    IMG_1386.JPG
     
  5. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    IMG_0039.JPG
     
  6. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    Ok progress.
    Once I have reversed the neck pickup jumper back and remove the green cable seem to fix the position 1,2 &3 and phase out with S1 pressed. However 4th position only gives neck pickup output. S1 switch also don't do anything.
    Hmmm??
     
  7. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    Black cable from the switch was going to wrong connection. Now all works :)
     
  8. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    Ok now I have to remove the centre part of the control cavity because it is raised, meaning the S1 won't fit and therefore I can't put the cover back on.

    How do I get this bit of wood out with minimal risk of damage to the rest of the body?

    All suggestions are appreciated.

    Would the wood drillbit in low power will work?
    As I don't have any other power tools...

    Thanks.
     
  9. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    IMG_1392.JPG
     
  10. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    Do you think this will do the job?
    I am thinking of making multiple holes then light chisel.
     
  11. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    It feels like I am talking to myself lol
     
  12. -Hawk-

    -Hawk- Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,403
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Haha. It seems you are! Sorry, can't help with the last question, but I'm sure someone here can.
     
    cemsky likes this.
  13. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    IMG_1398.JPG Wilson thanks for listening :)
     
    gtrjunior likes this.
  14. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    Maybe you can help. I get an extra noise from the bridge pickup. Also pop sounds when pressing the S1 switch button. Feels like something needs to be earth. Any ideas how to reduce this?
     
  15. Bradley-Jazz

    Bradley-Jazz TDPRI Member

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    Hello

    You could test try continuity of your grounding if you have a multimeter. Check that there is continuity between the strings, shielding, bridge plate, backs of the pots, collar of the jack, etc. If there isn't, you could have a bad or missing connection. If the bridge pickup doesn't have a metal base plate, and there is no separate earth wire for the bridge, that could be the issue. I think I get a little click on my Baja when pressing the S1, but nothing loud.

    As for the drilling out the cavity, that looks like a countersink bit, which might blunt quickly, and not get you very far. If a drill is all you have, I'd suggest a sharp, middle sized bit (6mm?), with tape stuck on at the appropriate height along the bit to make sure you don't go too deep. Make sure the body can't slip, and work slowly. Then use a SHARP chisel (not a screwdriver!) to clean out the remaining bits between the screw holes. Again, work slowly, and chisel away from yourself!

    Hope that's some help.
     
    cemsky likes this.
  16. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    I have managed to remove the bit with using chisel.

    Yeah I have a multimeter and I know how to do continuity test. However not sure what you mean by between the strings? How do I do that?

    Bridge pickup is sitting on a metal plate. I also have metal clip screwed to the wood with soldered wire under both pickups and under the control plate. I guess this are the earth points as the other side of the wires connected to the pups and the tone cap.
     
  17. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    IMG_1380.JPG
     
  18. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    IMG_1382.JPG
     
  19. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    BTW I have cut the jumper on the neck pickup and running a cable between the pickup cover to the tone cap as this have been suggested for 4 way switch. Above photo was taken before
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2017
  20. cemsky

    cemsky TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    Ok I got it now after my coffee :)
    Continuity tests passed for all the cables and between the earth (ground) connections.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.