1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Tele Bass, no not that kind.

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by ChrisThompson, Aug 3, 2009.

1. ChrisThompson

ChrisThompson TDPRI Member

So among all my leftover parts is a forlorn Alder tele body from some unknown maker. I painted it with Krylon Harvest Yellow for an opaque color that's fairly close to "tele yellow", cleared it with Deft Lacquer and let it sit... for 18 months. it got block sanded to 2000grit and is just waiting for a purpose really.

It's one of those projects that I never get around to finishing, mostly because I'm a bassist and I don't NEED another guitar. I noticed the other day that USACG has a "tele bass" body that is a tele shape, not a tele bass shape.

ie, not one of these http://www.vintageguitars.org.uk/TelecasterBass.php

and I got to thinking. I came on here tonight to ask if I were crazy to want to put a short scale bass neck on a tele body, wondering if anyone had.

Thought it was be easier to say what I wanted with a bit of photoshop cut and paste. Turns out, I answered my own question. I WANT this bass. and I WILL be building it. But since I went through the trouble to photoshop it, thought I'd share this as a "pre-build" thread. Remember the shots below are cut/paste/resize/mangle in photoshop from a ton of different pics, none of which are my guitar.

Started with this, a single darkstar about where the tele bridge pickup route already sits.

[​IMG]

That's the money shot right there that made me think "Hell yes, I want this bass". But too much is never enough, so, dual Darkstars

[​IMG]

That looks a bit much, so how about with dual Nordstrand Fat Stacks?

[​IMG]

Not feeling it. How about one of each?

[​IMG]