Tele Advice?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by roryhduffy, May 30, 2016.

1. roryhduffy

roryhduffy NEW MEMBER!

Howdy diddly everyone,
    I’m new here and i’ve been playing guitar for 4 years (self taught) and I’ve started to feel like something is missing while jamming and gigging, i have an ibanez artcore hollow body which is brilliant but not too well suited to what i play (melodic tapping and blues/rock). Ive been researching for a solid 6 months and I’m 99% sure i want a tele, however I’m on a really tight budget (800$ max) so I’ve been looking either making a partscaster from guitarfetish.com parts which is looking like around 360$ or buying a classic vibe butterscotch from a shop interstate which is 720$. do you guys have any past experiences with guitarfetish or any suggestions? much appreciated thanks :) (side note: I should mention i live in Australia Hence different prices (AUD) and a different budget)

2. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

Since you're just getting your first one, I'd go with the Classic Vibe or a used Mexican Standard. Both are great quality and you'll want to hang onto them when you get your next one. Do the partscaster after you know the exact parts that you'll want to make up your dream Tele.

roryhduffy likes this.
  3. Downshift

Downshift Tele-Holic

Everything I've heard from the time they came out is that you can't go wrong with the Classic Vibe. Building partscasters is a lot of fun, but I think you'd be hard-pressed to build a decent one for half the price of a Classic Vibe. You'd probably be using the cheapest possible components, and you'd get a guitar that looks like a tele, but probably not one you'd be happy with. I could be wrong, but I'd steer you toward the Classic Vibe.

roryhduffy likes this.
  4. trev333

trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

Exchange rate/postage is a killer atm buying from the US...