Tele 3-pickup, 3-way switch, 3-pot wiring question

jim_pridx

Tele-Afflicted
Hey all of you wiring tech gurus! I have a question regarding a Nashville/Brent Mason wiring scheme that I'd like to convert to a 50s-style wiring if possible. As you'll see in the images below, I've decided to go with a Brent Mason diagram that was originally posted in Premier Guitar on 10/29/21. Although, I'll be using standard Tele pickups for the bridge and neck positions and a standard Strat pickup for the middle. The first diagram is the original Premier Guitar image while the second one is edited to what I thought might work for a 50s wiring setup??? If not, would you happen to have any suggestions? While I'm handy with a soldering iron, I'm certainly no expert on wiring schemes, so I thought I'd ask to see if someone can help me out. While I'm not opposed to wiring it just as it is, I've been using 50s wiring for many years now, and I just like what it does to the tone control when dialing it back a bit. At any rate, here are the images, and thanks in advance!

Last edited:

misterdontmove

Tele-Meister
Yes. The tone control on the output of the Volume control rather than the input. I wire mine that way too. I just built a Nashville Tele with the middle pickup wired to the volume control through an on/off switch. I lose middle pickup alone, but I don't use that position. Does your wiring scheme allow for middle pickup alone with the master volume down?

jim_pridx

Tele-Afflicted
Yes. The tone control on the output of the Volume control rather than the input. I wire mine that way too. I just built a Nashville Tele with the middle pickup wired to the volume control through an on/off switch. I lose middle pickup alone, but I don't use that position. Does your wiring scheme allow for middle pickup alone with the master volume down?