Tech 21 Fly Rig Review

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by black_doug, May 22, 2020.

1. black_doug

black_doug Friend of Leo's

I'm ready to buy one of the new Fly Rigs. I really like the idea of having a lightweight plug'n'play rig available if my tube amp dies suddenly. They can also all be plugged directly into a mixer or a PA.

I'm not sure which of the three in the review to get. I like the sound of the Paul Landers model except it doesn't have an FX loop. So I'm leaning towards the Fly Rig 5 V.2.

Has anyone been using any one of these three?

2. lupowitz

lupowitz Tele-Afflicted

No, but I'm an avid Tech 21 user. I started on a Tri-A.C., then a GT-2, now I have a Tradmark 10 and a Trademark 60.
    You can't go wrong with Mr.Barta's creation, imho.
    I myself too eyeing these, but not really on the market for a sollution like these.
    I watched every review and test on youtube, and the general concensus seems to be, that everyone wants the sounds of the PL1 with the functionality of the RK2 plus the loop on the FlyRig5 V2. :) So I feel your pain.

3. bullfrogblues

bullfrogblues Friend of Leo's

My last 1 1/2 years with the now defunct band, I used the Flyrig RK model straight into the board with no issues at all. We all used in ears, and every instrument except drums were straight in, no stage volume but drums.
    I enhanced using a few pedals, mini-wah, tuner, and a second delay. Made load in/load out much easier, too.
    The newer models have more features than mine, but I still use it in front of amps and it sounds great.

4. Jakedog

Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I just recently tried the original RK model. I was extremely impressed. Personally I want the extra features, so I’ll be getting the FlyRig 5 V2. But yes, I will eventually be getting one.

ZenGuitarist, black_doug and PhredE like this.
  5. bsman

bsman Friend of Leo's