Teaching myself/"learning" the piano, late in life; advice?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by RoscoeElegante, Mar 23, 2019.

1. RoscoeElegante

RoscoeElegante Friend of Leo's

AND...I can't read music. And not sure I wanna try. Did so once, and it just about split me brains. (I am an English teacher for a reason!) Learned guitar by ear, friends, mimicking, experimenting, "reading" tabs, Maestro U le Tube, etc.

So...can I continue to "learn" the piano this way--on my own, plotting out chords and notes, YouTube how-to's, by ear--without having to learn how to read music, or take formal lessons?

Or is the piano the kind of creature that you just gotta surrender to the formal ways of learning it?

To answer the "What kinds of tones do you like?" equivalent here: I play lots of my own stuff. The piano parts to my songs that I've heard in my head for years/hear clearly. Even when guiding professional pianists on what I'm hearing for a song's piano part, there are pauses, inflections, etc., that I don't know the names for but by the time I can demonstrate what I mean, I've learned how to do it myself. I like everything from Chopin's "Preludes" to Floyd Cramer to "Layla" to "Let It Be" to old-school R&B and black gospel.

So...read music/get lessons, or not? Also, what fumbling, eager newbie tips can you share?

Thanks!

By the way, it sure is fun, having all the notes already laid out for you. When the keys don't suddenly blur into an indistinguishable/where the heck am I? jumble, it's beautiful to have it all before you. My close-second-favorite instrument. There are universes in there.....

Last edited: Mar 23, 2019
  2. raito

raito Poster Extraordinaire

My advice would be to get a set of lesson books for beginners. 6 year olds don't know how to read music either. All the series work on that as well as playing. Playing piano seriously requires technique no matter what you play. You don't necessarily need a teacher, but you do need a progression of difficulty.