1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Talk me out of it...or into it

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Mark the Moose, Jan 16, 2021.

  1. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    I have a Weber 6a14hp which I built a year ago, a 35 watt Princeton Reverb with a 1x12 cabinet. I’m considering a rebuild with a few upgraded components and reconfiguring the circuit to a single channel 6g16. Seems like it would require very minor changes. Cautions or encouragements?
     
  2. Twang Deluxe

    Twang Deluxe Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Kehl
    Sounds like a great project
     
  3. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    Looks like a few minor changes to the preamp and a little reconfiguration of the power section...simple enough. More work will go into adding another tube.
     
  4. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,922
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    What is the 6a14hp lacking? What are you hoping to gain?
     
  5. strat a various

    strat a various Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,116
    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    Do it! With one hand tied behind your back.
     
    robrob likes this.
  6. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    I really love a Princeton reverb and a 63 vibroverb. This one is a little bit both but not really either one. Originally I intended to sell it to fund some more builds but I’ve not had any luck. A PR seems like a good first scratch build, while this amp seems like a good candidate to convert to a vibroverb.
     
  7. cometazzi

    cometazzi Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    847
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Location:
    Wisconsin, Das Land von Käse und Bier
    You could turn it into a Vibroverb. If you ever reminisce too much about the Princeton Reverb, you could just build one as a separate amp.

    See how I just doubled your projects?
     
    robrob and Mark the Moose like this.
  8. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    That’s where I’m landing as well.
     
  9. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    That’s where I’m landing as well.
     
  10. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,922
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    Post #8 and post #9
    :lol::lol::lol:

    Now that is funny right there.
     
  11. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    38,233
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    What is it in the 6G16 that you are wanting? You can utilize a tapped treble pot if you want to experiment with that difference. If the phase inverter difference bothers you, that is a more intense problem to address and imho would be better dealt with using a new build.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2021
    Mark the Moose and Phrygian77 like this.
  12. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    That is the other route. Change the PT leads, swap the OT down for a PR 6V6 configuration and rework the bias values. Then plan for a 6g16 build.
     
    Wally likes this.
  13. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    38,233
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Mark, before you do that, why not try the tapped treble pot and put a potentiometer in series with the NFB resistor so that you can warm up that output as was done in the 6G16. You might find that these changes are meaningful?? My 1963 prototype BF Pro has the tapped treble pots...original pots....and it does not sound quite like any other BF amp, ime. It is the only BF amp that I have seen or heard of that has those tapped treble pots.
     
    Mark the Moose likes this.
  14. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    That's a good idea. I already have a nfb switch which doubles the resistor value, which I like a lot.
     
    Wally likes this.
  15. The Ballzz

    The Ballzz Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    1,813
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    @Wally
    Please describe/explain the term "tapped treble pot" as I haven't a clue? Pic/drawing/schematic would be helpful , given that I'm an idiot!
    Thank You Sir!
    Gene
     
  16. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    38,233
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    In the larger 6G amps, Fender used a tapped treble pot. As opposed to what we are accustomed to seeing...a three lug pot....those pots were 350k pots with a tap at 70k. Here is an explanation and some pics of a modern tapped pot. WEber sells...or did sell...a 250k pot with a tap at 70K.

    https://sites.google.com/site/chosenaudioproducts/tuxedoamp/tappedpot
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.