1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Table saw safety PSA

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by Peegoo, Jan 19, 2021.

1. Peegoo

Peegoo Poster Extraordinaire

The thread about losing parts of one's hand is a sad reminder that a table saw has no sympathy for body parts.

I've been using these saws for many years and only last year did I install a riving knife on my saw for most of the cuts I make these days. I never used one because yeah--they do get in the way sometimes and they're inconvenient to remove and reinstall.

What changed my mind? I had a small stick of wood turn into a spear and do a carrier launch straight into the wall behind me. Luckily I was not in the way when it happened. First time--and hopefully the last time now that I use the riving knife behind the blade. And I thought I was being super safe. I wasn't.

Here's a really good recap of how a riving knife can prevent a hand injury. This might be the best table saw safety vid on the innerwebz; it is worth the 30 minutes it takes to roll.

Remember the absolute best safety gear is the thing between your ears.

Be safe in your shop.

2. Fretting out

Fretting out Poster Extraordinaire

You ever see one of those saws that retracts when it hits meat?

That’s what I thought of

The biggest part is to respect the tools and the power they have, and as peegoo says work smart

Knowing a few basic rules of what not to do helps too

Tommy Biggs and nojazzhere like this.
  3. Mark the Moose

Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

Good word. I find I’m really safe with tools and motorcycles 99.9% of the time, but it’s so easy to make a quick decision that ends poorly. That’s when air bags, helmets, riving knives, sawstop tech...are all good to have backing you up.

SparkleFart and Fretting out like this.
  4. guitarbuilder