1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Switching strings

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by tele-nova, Apr 20, 2021.

1. tele-nova

tele-nova Tele-Meister

After a bad run of luck with ernie balls im going to switch strings. Im torn between d'addarios and elixirs. I have no experience with the d'addarios so I was hoping some of you guys could enlighten me. How long will they stay "fresh"? Are they prone to breaking? How do they feel? Thanks for any advice

2. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

Daddario xl120s for..........15+ years now? Sounds right.

No string should be "prone" to breaking, as that would be really bad for the manufacturers. How long they feel new is also up to your own skin chemistry. I have a friend that must have acid hands as he goes through a set in a night or two, whereas mine can easily be 6 months even with hard playing.

tele-nova likes this.
  3. Killing Floor

Killing Floor Friend of Leo's

Prone to breaking can mean a lot of things. No manufacturing is perfect so that is always a possibility. Does the same string break? Or different ones?
    And yeah, I really like XLs. They are a good value and easy to get. But I've never had a problem with Slinkys either. Good luck.

Why not buy 3-4 different brands and compare?

tele-nova likes this.
  4. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

I really like D'Addario strings!
    They are consistently well made, relatively inexpensive, and smartly packaged.
    I used XL Heavy and Medium on by guitars.
    I use their tapewounds on my P bass.
    I get about 16 hours of constant playing time (4 gigs) before I kill the wound strings.
    I hate dead/dull strings.
    The XL's are bright strings.
    They never break.
    Conversely, I loathe coated strings., especially Elixers.