Switch signal straight to Jack?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Chordophonic, Jun 25, 2014.

  1. Chordophonic

    Chordophonic Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Location:
    Isle of Wight UK
    So, I have a Franken Tele single pickup, 3 strings, one volume, open tuning and I would like to fit a switch to bypass the volume so the signal can by-pass the volume pot. Like a solo switch….I can solder and understand a wiring diagram to a degree, but am otherwise as much use as a chocolate teapot with regards to working it out myself……
    Could someone help me out with a drawing and tell me what sort of switch I need please?

    Thanks!

    Paul
     
  2. Mark Adkins

    Mark Adkins Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Petoskey, MI
    I was originally going to suggest a no load pot, but upon reading the description further it states it cannot be used as a volume pot. Sorry.
     
  3. waparker4

    waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    [​IMG]

    SPDT switch.
     
  4. ecoli

    ecoli Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I was thinking the same thing. Not sure why you can't use it as a volume pot. Would be the easiest solution by far.

    I'm no help :p!
     
  5. waparker4

    waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    DPDT solution (slightly more brighter)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Mark Adkins

    Mark Adkins Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Petoskey, MI
    I was curious why myself, so I researched it further.

    From what I understand, 0-9 works fine, but when you click into 10 it breaks the circuit completely and you get no output to the amp. It's a good solution if you want a kill switch incorporated into your volume pot. :lol:
     
  7. waparker4

    waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    ACtually I don't think it would work at all.

    The pickup signal comes into the 1st terminal which has been disconnected from the rest of the carbon track. So no signal makes it past that point to where the wiper is
     
  8. Mark Adkins

    Mark Adkins Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Petoskey, MI
    Hmm... When I was researching why it wouldn't work, I came across a thread on the Seymour Duncan forum, in which they said it would work 0-9. I have never tried it, so I can't say for sure that it will.

    Having said that, I trust your expertise with wiring and believe you when you say it won't work at all.

    The kid in me still wants to try it just to see what happens! :lol:
     
  9. Mark Adkins

    Mark Adkins Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Petoskey, MI
    Just found another post that says 0-9 will work, but this post goes on to state the pot would work backwards, in which you are at full volume in the full counter-clockwise position, and the volume drops as you turn clockwise, and disconnects altogether when you click into the no-load setting (10). There goes the integrated kill switch! :lol:
     
  10. Chordophonic

    Chordophonic Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Location:
    Isle of Wight UK
    Thanks!

    Paul
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.