Subtle Fuzz Pedal Without Guitar Volume Roll-off

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by rossvanuatu, May 14, 2021.

1. rossvanuatu

rossvanuatu TDPRI Member

Hi,

I was just wondering if anyone could recommend a fuzz pedal that can be adjusted to sound somewhat clean (almost OD-like) without rolling back the volume on the guitar?

I understand that it is fairly common practise to roll back the guitar volume knob to achieve cleanup, and many of the pros have done this for decades, but I’m not a pro and the volume we practise at versus perform at is always changing, and I struggle to find the sweet spot especially when playing live. Prefer to just leave it on 10.

I’m hoping there are some modern pedals that might be less dependent on the volume roll-off technique, that may have a wet dry blend or something to achieve more versatility.

Pedals that I’ve tried that don’t really achieve the above:

-Catalinbread Fuzzrite
    -Analogman Peppermint Fuzz
    -Zvex Fuzz Factory
    -EHX Green Russian Big Muff Reissue

Cheers!

2. radiocaster

radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

3. RadioFM74

RadioFM74 Friend of Leo's

I’ve only ever had a fuzz face, so can’t speak to other designs - but AFAIK the fuzz face is the only one giving you that “clean dirty” you’re after.

The short answer from my experience is “no”
    - that particular clean-ish, trebly sound is distinctively fuzz face BUT
    - if you put the fuzz face at lower settings and guitar on ten you don’t get that - you get a weird woolly tone. To get that, it’s a low-output guitar at mid volume with fuzz at max (Gilmore) or slightly backed off (Hendrix) (and volume at unity in “cleanup mode”).

The difficulty you mention is perhaps less than you think (and I was also a “volume on 10” guy before getting the pedal last December)
    - using the volume control becomes second nature after awhile