1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Strymon Iridium setup

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by LiveTransmission, Jan 22, 2021.

1. LiveTransmission

LiveTransmission TDPRI Member

Hi - so I'm thinking of going ahead and getting a Strymon Iridium and hooking it up to some monitors for lower volume home practice and some simple Garageband recording. I've not played around with this kind of setup before, so I'm wondering how it all fits together. Do I need to put it through a FocusRite interface, into my computer, then out to the monitors? Will there be any lag to the audio if I do?

Complete newbie... :lol:

Mike M likes this.
  2. Axegrinder77

Axegrinder77 Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

I had an Iridium. If you go through your interface and out to monitors, it should be very little latency. If you go through your computer, then you will probably noticed some lag.

I would suggest getting a mixer. Then you can go Iridium into mixer, out to monitors. You can feed the interface for recording... Or what I did was use the usb out on my mixer (didn't need an interface). This worked well.

For a home studio, I can't stress enough how integral a mixer is.

I ended up selling my Iridium and getting a captor x to use my tube amp. The Iridium was impressive though.

It's a bit of a rabbit hole to set up though, as you get unbalanced 1/4 inch outs.

A couple of things I learned along the way:

It's important to run the Iridium in stereo. The room effect is what makes it sound life like rather than sterile digital. That's in stereo.