String Spacing

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Wrighty, Jan 28, 2020.

1. Wrighty

Wrighty Tele-Afflicted

So, posted not long ago that I’d done my first set up on my AmPro Tele and was pleased with the result. Today I did some minor tweaks to stop the higher strings choking out on bends and then set about putting on fresh strings. Same size and make as the ones it’d been set up with.
    Noticed that the string spacing at the bridge end is all over the place, B - G and D - A are much wider apart. As I posted last time, I am a novice at doing set ups and have no idea how to wrestle the strings into the right positions and get them to stay there. First time on a three brass set up.
    Your help appreciated, I’ll start the restring again with new strings so as I can do what you advise from the ground up.
    Sure with you guys’ help I can sort it.

2. fasteddie42

fasteddie42 Tele-Holic

partially loosen the string until slack.

move the string at the bridge to where you want it.

tighten the tuners up.

Blue Bill and FenderGuy53 like this.
  3. FenderGuy53

FenderGuy53 Poster Extraordinaire

^^^ THIS ^^^

4. Wrighty

Wrighty Tele-Afflicted

That simple? So, if the spacing is correct it doesn’t matter where it sits on the saddle and, more importantly, it’ll stay where it’s put?

I’ll give it a go in the morning and report back. Sure you guys are right!

5. LKB3rd

LKB3rd Friend of Leo's

Start by making sure the saddles are straight, looking at the screws that attach to the back of the bridge. Then like they said above, put the strings in place while loose enough to move easily, space them out evenly and over the pickup polepieces, tighten back up. Ideally they will come out of the body through hole, in a straight line over the saddle. But if they are close, it should be fine.