1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

String Recommendations for new Nylon

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by Jethro, Nov 27, 2017.

1. Jethro

Jethro Tele-Afflicted

I'm new to the Nylon world and just curious which strings I should go with???

The Guitar is a Cordoba and the Model is the Fusion 12 Cutaway with Maple back and sides. It's more of a Hybrid type where the neck width and radius is closer to that of a steel string style

I will be using this primarily with a pick for solo's and such, and also a bit of flamenco flavoured fingerstyle

I see there are quite a few possibilities in strings and wasn't sure what might be best suited???

Any tips are greatly appreciated Cordoba Back.jpg Cordoba Front.jpg

2. mowgli5555

mowgli5555 Tele-Meister

I just play variations of the EJ strings. Since I prefer a higher tension, I use the standard EJ46 and its variations (composite, carbon, etc.)
    Tried one set of Savarez, and couldn't get them to settle easy enough for my comfort.

Surely there is someone here with better string knowledge than myself. Also, check out the classical guitar forums if you want to get into the deep end. Josh

Jethro likes this.
  3. 4 Cat Slim

4 Cat Slim Friend of Leo's

Pretty guitar!
    I use LaBella's #427 set. If I recall correctly, it's a normal tension set.
    They seem to widely available, of good quality and priced sensibly.
    Just my opinion...

4. kLyon

kLyon Tele-Holic Gold Supporter

After using Savarez for years (first there was Gato Negro when I started playing in Spain as a kid: nylon wound trebles!) I went through many esoteric and expensive strings before settling on the consistency, price, and easy availability of D'Addario Pro
    Arte. (The ones with the off-white composite G string.)
    I use them on all my nylons.