1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

String Gauge and Spring Tension on a P/G B-Bender

Discussion in 'B-Bender Forum' started by JayFreddy, Feb 13, 2014.

1. JayFreddy

JayFreddy Poster Extraordinaire

I'm new to the world of B-Benders, so I'm sorry if these questions seem silly or have been asked many times before.

I recently had the good fortune to have a P/G equipped Nashville Tele come live at my house (Thanks ScatMan!).

This is my first B Bender ever, so I'm still getting the feel of it, but I play a little pedal steel, and the P/G mechanism seems stable and tunes accurately.

Currently it's got 10-46 strings, and I'd like to try a 9-42 set, the same as I use on my other Teles. Will a lighter string gauge require a spring adjustment beyond the range of the tuning disc?

I know that with floating Strat trems, going from 10's to 9's usually requires some loosening of the tremolo springs, so I imagine a B-Bender would require a similar adjustment.

I suppose I'll just slap some 9's on there and find out, but if possible, I'd like to get an idea of what to expect in advance.

I've also noticed that the bender mechanism is sensitive to detuning if I move around quickly, and so I've been watching GetBent's "stiffer spring" thread with interest.

If I'm thinking about this correctly, a lighter string gauge will put less tension on the B-Bender, allowing the bender to be more resistant to unintentional detuning.

If that's true, the lighter string gauge could be just what the doctor ordered, as I'd rather not dicker with the mechanism or go shortening springs if I don't have to...

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience!

2. Chet Johnson

Chet Johnson Tele-Afflicted