1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Strap Height

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by gitapik, Mar 9, 2016.

1. gitapik

gitapik Tele-Afflicted Gold Supporter

This is a general topic, as I have an ASAT Classic, which isn't really a Tele. So this is more of a "T" Style guitar topic.

My go to electric guitars through the years have been a Les Paul and a Strat. Both of them hang at angle that, as a classical guitarist, I'm really comfortable with.

The G&L hangs a bit more parallel to the ground and, though I've adapted to it, I can't say as I like it. But I do love the guitar.

Last night I shortened my strap length. A lot. Though it didn't change the angle, it did make the access to the neck (especially near the head stock) a lot more accessible.

Tonight I'm going to do this again and play for a couple of hours to see how it effects my shoulder. The other thing about that neck angle is that it tends to pull down on the shoulder, which makes for some discomfort, not helped by the fact that it's a fairly heavy ax. I'm hoping that this change in strap height will make a difference there.

Is this particular angle a characteristic of Teles, in general? How do you like to adjust your strap?

2. Georox

Georox Friend of Leo's

I adjust it so it's comfortable for me.

3. Blue Bill

Blue Bill Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

Yeah, I would say every guitar is a little different, trial and error finds the comfy spot. I started out with my guitars down by my knees, like Jimmy Page; the older I get, the higher it rides.

voodoostation and old soul like this.
  4. crossroader

crossroader Tele-Afflicted

Ditto.
    And each guitar might be a little bit different, so I usually have a strap for each guitar.

5. Owenmoney

Owenmoney Tele-Afflicted