Strange question about picking hand

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by rdwhitti, Apr 10, 2016.

1. rdwhitti

rdwhitti Tele-Holic

My guitar teacher thinks this is odd and has not seen it before. I have been playing for 6 months but still find that my picking hand tends to move back towards the bridge as my fretting hand moves down the neck. This has always been a problem for me and would like to know what I can do to break the habit. As I play down the neck my picking hand starts slowly gravitating towards the bridge. If I start out picking between the neck and middle pickups, before I know it I am at or below the middle pickup, then the bridge pickup, and the I hit the bridge. This is a real problem! Does anybody here have any suggestions?

2. rdwhitti

rdwhitti Tele-Holic

I do not anchor but I do use my Palm to mute the lower strings. I started out resting my hand on the bridge and then moved up as I learned to mute strings with my palm.

3. dsutton24

dsutton24 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Nah, that's not a real problem, just something you need to refine a bit. My guess is that you watch your left hand while you're playing. You might try to learn some simple scales up and down the neck well enough that your left hand does it automatically, then watch your right hand, concentrating on keeping it still as you play your scales.

Ultimately you want to learn to play with your eyes on the music, trusting your hands to do what they're supposed to.

brookdalebill likes this.
  4. rdwhitti

rdwhitti Tele-Holic

That's good advice, thanks. I often try to close my eyes and just play by feel. Maybe I should be looking at my picking hand sometimes instead.

5. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member