Stompbox Output Jack Grounding

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by peterg, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. peterg

    peterg TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Toronto
    Does an output jack's ground tab need to be connected to anything?
     
  2. LarsOS

    LarsOS Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    Yes, it needs to be connected to (signal) ground.
     
  3. peterg

    peterg TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Toronto
    Thought so. Some diagrams I've seen don't show it though.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. bblumentritt

    bblumentritt Tele-Afflicted Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    In the drawing above, signal ground is connected to the sleeve of the input jack, and hence, the box. The output jack ground tab is also grounded to the box. The box is acting as circuit ground, and both jack sleeves are in contact with the box.
     
  5. LarsOS

    LarsOS Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    If the stompbox enclosure is made out of a conductive metal, that might be enough, if the enclosure is grounded, all depending on the design of the jack.

    But in your illustration, it seems like it's the inner (hot) lead that is missing? That's strange.
     
  6. limbe

    limbe Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,453
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm,Sweden
    I think peterg calls the ground lug for "inner" because it´s closest to the box and the hot lug for "outer" if I am not mistaken.The groundlug on the output jack is grounded in the metallic box.
     
  7. peterg

    peterg TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Toronto
    So if it's a metal box i.e. Hammond 1590B then a wire from the output ground lug to somewhere else is not needed?

    I can't take credit for the diagram. I picked it off a site. Just not sure which one.

    Limbe - we are reading the drawing the same.
     
  8. tjk3052

    tjk3052 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    535
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    The wild wild midwest
    It's good practice to connect it by wire. That way it stays connected if the jack comes loose.
     
  9. LarsOS

    LarsOS Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    Yes, if it's a metal box, you can use the box as ground. But as tjk3052 said, it's good practice to run a ground wire anyway.

    There are several reasons for that. Redundancy is one of them. Soldered connections having lower resistance is another (better toooone - may or may not be noticeable). A dedicated ground wire will also make the circuit easier to understand for the person who is to troubleshoot it 50 years in the future (one can always hope). And I'm sure there's a couple more reasons, but I can't think of any right now, and I've got work to do, so I shouldn't be reading TDPRI in the first place. :oops:
     
  10. peterg

    peterg TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Toronto
    Thanks All
     
  11. limbe

    limbe Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,453
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm,Sweden
    Using lock washers and tightening the nut will make it harder for the jack to come loose.
    I use them most of the time.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.