Starting to Learn Bass

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by tele-rain, Jun 6, 2020.

1. tele-rain

tele-rain Friend of Leo's

I’ve been wanting to try out bass for a long while...finally pulled the trigger and got myself a Hofner Ignition series. I had been researching for months, more avidly in the last few weeks. Decided short scale is best for me...I’m a woman who is shortish and have shortish arms. I’m glad I made that decision because this 30in short scale is plenty long for me.

I am absolutely loving this bass...granted I am no expert to know if it’d got any real problems. The edge of the neck is smooth, no rough frets. I was able to tune it easily. I haven’t plugged in yet because my amp isn't coming until Tuesday. I’ve heard you can use a guitar amp, but carefully so as not to blow it out. I don’t want to chance that, I’m fine with going at it unplugged for a few days. I’ve been signed up to Fender Play for the 3 month free thing, but now subscribed for a year and switched to the bass path. It’s been awesome getting a feel for it!

Here are some pics for anyone interested. Oh and stupid question...is that piece of paper under the bridge removable? I know there are plastic coverings over the pick-guard and pick ups. But I’m not sure what that piece is under the bridge...it’s not really paper, feels like cloth. I don’t wanna mess with it until I know what it is, hahah!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 6, 2020
    oceanblue, DonM, nojazzhere and 9 others like this.
  2. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

Fantastic!
    The world needs more bass players!

nojazzhere, frank a and tele-rain like this.
  3. gimmeatele

gimmeatele Tele-Holic

Nothing like the feeling when you start hitting the groove, enjoy

frank a and tele-rain like this.
  4. trev333

trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

I learned bass playing with a band from day one.... yikkes....