Standard Issue Lap Steel

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by henkka, Nov 3, 2010.

1. henkka

henkka TDPRI Member

Getting inspired by all the fine projects going on here, I thought I´d give instrument building a bash.

I´ve been interested in aquiring a lap steel guitar for a while. They are definitely not abundant here in Finland, I have never actually seen one (let alone tried) in my life. Nevertheless I like the sound of them.

As a guitarist and bassist for around fifteen years, I´ve noticed that the cheapest price range instrument isn´t always the best way to really get into a new instrument. In lap steels mid range products seem a rarity with either cheap asians or expensive professional u.s. gear the only options. Not able to afford anything proper at the moment as I am a student, I decided to build one. At least it´ll have entertainment value.

As a fan of simple things, as Esquires and Leo´s early work in general, I start off my project with this background story:

What if the army had suddenly placed an order of 100.000 six string lap steels instead of jeeps around 1950? The guidelines being:
    1. It must be cheap, light and sturdy
    2. It has to use standard, readily available parts
    3. It has to be suited for mass production (=easy to build, quick to finish)
    4. It has to be easy to repair by anyone (or not break, ha ha)
    5. It has to do what it´s built to do well
    6. It has to have long enough scale to make sure operating it with standard issue gloves on is possible

Here´s a quick sketch:
    [​IMG]

And reactions to guidelines:
    1. Speaker-cab pine is the wood of choice
    2. Esquire hardware minus controls, pickup=>jack shall be enough)
    3. No frills design (two-by-four esthetics), blonde+nitro finish (quick and cheap)
    4. Easily replacable screw-on parts (as Leo would have liked)
    5. Well, we´ll see about that...
    6. Something around 24", perhaps a dull metric 60cm will do