Stainless Steel Frets

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by VerLaTele, Nov 21, 2019.

1. VerLaTele

VerLaTele TDPRI Member

Do stainless steel frets ever show where? I've got what I thought were stainless steel frets and they have pits in them after 4 years of playing. I thought the whole point of these was that they didn't do this.

2. joeford

joeford Friend of Leo's

got pictures?

SS isn't invincible... but it's far, far harder than the nickel strings sliding across them. I've got them on all my guitars... some as old as ten years old since install... and they all feel like brand new.

3. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Tele-Afflicted

I have no firsthand experience with stainless steel frets. I know they're supposed to be harder and more difficult to level and crown because of that so I've avoided them. But just because they're harder they still have to wear eventually, right?

4. joeford

joeford Friend of Leo's

i used to need a level and crown on my number one almost yearly because of the divots in my frets. i haven't needed any servicing since switching to stainless. it should last the lifetime of a guitar... the OP's experience is pretty strange

El Tele Lobo and Steve Holt like this.
  5. moosie

moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I used to need a fret level on at least one guitar every 6 months. Now, the ones which have stainless on them are going on 7 years, and zero signs of wear. None.

My tech told me about a busy mandolin player who played his frets down to paper thin repeatedly, gigging 5 nights a week. Said tech put stainless, and didn't see that mando for a decade. And even then, no wear.

I like it as much for the feel as the longevity. It's like playing on ice.

6. Nick Fanis

Nick Fanis Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

Yes it is.

Unless:

1.the frets aren't SS to begin with
    2.He uses SS strings.

I have SS in one of my guitars and after 10 years they are still brand new with zero marks.

LutherBurger likes this.
  7. drf64