Squier CV 60s wiring difference to 50s

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by Squierdo, Sep 21, 2020.

1. Squierdo

Squierdo TDPRI Member

Hi..

I just joined this forum because as a Telecaster newbie, i hope to find answers from experts here for some questions.

After buying my first Telecaster, i start to fall in love with Telecasters (just had Les Pauls before).

Alas the look of the squier cv 60 was a decision that just visually pleases me.
    On Youtube i saw Videos of the Butterscotch blonde squier 50s.

This one of the sweetest sound i ever heard. The (i call it oily) clear twang sound. :D

After reading i found out about the tonerider pickups. I swaped the 60s ones (tonerider other model i think) against the vintage plus.

The sound of the bridge and combined switch setting is as i expected.. sweet maximum twang..

But...
    The neck pickup sounds rather unspectacular. It's much like the neck pickup i had inside before. No twang. Not like in videos. I tried different pickup heights.. no difference.

:rolleyes:
    Now after my lenghty post (sorry) comes my question:
    Are there differences inside the tone control between the cv 60 and cv 50 that could cause that the neck pickup doesn't have twang?

2. Jay Jernigan

Jay Jernigan Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

You may have re-raised the eternal question regarding Tele neck pickups: why does it sound dull?
    Look at the high number of assorted mods made in that regard for extra clarity, or in search of an improvement.
    My personal method is to keep the tone control rolled back on the bridge p'up and roll it up on the neck.
    I have been known to disconnect the tone control from the neck p'up altogether. (Move the wire from the volume control to the bridge p'up cleat on the switch.)
    Another idea is to remove the cover from the neck p'up, if you don't mind the look. Careful with the windings.