Speaking of plumbing … I have failed.

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Obsessed, Jun 21, 2021.

1. Obsessed

Obsessed Telefied Silver Supporter

Okay, admittedly self taught, but I have plumbed an outdoor waterfall, a cabin, a house, 1920s clawfoot bathtub, 1920 sink, a 1930s sink, two new bathroom sinks and two complete install toilets. I’ve done over 400 copper solder joints, about two miles worth of PVC, proper septic line and two structures of waste venting. I even performed an emergency reconnection of the main water line to my bosses house after the Loma Prieta earthquake decades ago. Not bragging, but I thought I was pretty good at this stuff.

We have installed the kitchen into the new house with a double style, fireclay “Farmers” sink. It is the first double sink and the first using the light white plastic instead of metal for the drain trap under the sink for me. Three weeks of :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: darn leaks and I have given up. :oops::oops::oops::oops::oops: I went plastic because it was all I could find during the ****ing lockdown. After all, this is not rocket science. I finally found the metal equivalents of all of the parts online to order. Yes, I designed and built my own hydro plant that has been running for over two decades without a glitch. I love to design and build just about everything from hot rods to solar batch water heaters, but this stupid sink has made me throw in the towel. Coming off of two agonizingly painful weeks with a broken tooth that festered into a dying nerve requiring a root canal and awaiting a crown while eating soft soggy food has not helped the situation either. I was probably gritting my teeth too much fixing one leak after another under the sink.:(

I hate plastic and that was my specialty during my career. When people ask me what I did, I always answer by saying, “I designed long term landfill”.

Okay, just venting. Thanks for listening.

2. Harry Styron

Harry Styron Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter