Speakers for Roland JC-120?

TheGoodTexan

Doctor of Teleocity
Ad Free Member
I just scored a JC-120 on eBay, for $249. I used one of these for a good long while in the 1990s, and I know specifically what that amp excels at, *and what it does not.*

However, this particular amp has had a speaker swap. Rather than the stock Roland speakers, it has Eminence Screamin Eagles in it. I have no experience with that speaker at all.

So here are my questions:

(1) The stock Roland speakers were very slow to break up, adding very little of their own character to the overall tone. In what ways can I expect the Screamin Eagle speakers differ from that, with this amp?

(2) A quick internet search doesn't turn up any results for purchasing the stock speakers for a JC-120 (as in new replacements). What are some readily available speaker options out there which might compliment this amp well, for what it was made to do?

(*Note: I will not be trying to force a square peg into a round hole with this amp... In other words, I'm not trying to make it sound more like a tube amp, or make it sound like a Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier, etc. I'll be using it for basic, pretty, chimey cleanish tone... like the clean tones that you might hear from Eric Johnson. This is what I did with this amp when I owned it previously, and it worked well for me for that purpose.)

Last edited:

Nick Fanis

Poster Extraordinaire
Ad Free Member
Get a set of EMINENCE SWAMP THANGS,they will be better than the stock speakers of the amp & definitely better from the low power ones it has now,you need at least 100w per speaker

Last edited:

muchxs

Doctor of Teleocity
I'd go for something intended for a modeling amp, very neutral...

Considering there's a dead Line 6 behind every dumpster by now a hundo worth o' speakers can be harvested from a fifty buck Line 6.

My next pick would be

Eminence Lil' Texas neos.