Speaker suggestions for Deluxe Micro

TeleSlug

TDPRI Member
In summer 2021 I built Rob's Deluxe Micro and since then have been playing through the 8" speaker in my Champ combo. That's been okay.

I had bought an Eminence 620H hemp coned 6" speaker with the idea of converting the Deluxe Micro into a combo, but am having other ideas. I'm wondering if the one 6" speaker will be too teeny to get the most out of the amp.

Here are ideas for your input and I'm sure other suggestions:

- Buy another one of the 6" speakers to double the fun (Note: These now cost way more than I paid)

- Buy a different, less expensive 6" speaker to pair with it

- Buy a 10" speaker (and save the 6" for a different project)

- Leave well enough alone

At some point I'd like to build a Bassman Micro, so I'll throw that in the mix, but that's a ways off.

woodandglue

TDPRI Member
I'm no sonic expert, but I built the same circuit and I do enjoy it with the Jensen 6" in the little head unit I built. That said, just about any speaker that was bigger than a 6" sounded better. I've run it with a Ragin Cajun, and a few 10" and 12" organ pull speakers. The larger speakers do allow it to fart out so if I was going to commit to a cab, I'd fuss with the coupling caps for the right sound. I hope that is helpful!

2L man

Tele-Afflicted
Jensen P10R-Fen is sweetest sounding speaker for tweed amps when it is not overloaded past 10...12W. Especially its low volume is better than any other I have compared. Its low sensitivity of only 92.5db must have an effect.

Kev-wilson

Tele-Meister
I'm using a 10" 30w Greenback in one and a Jensen p10r 25w in my other micro Deluxe, they both work well but the Jensen is my favourite tho I'd say a distortion pedal works better with the Greenback.

VintageSG

Poster Extraordinaire
I use Jensen 10" speakers ( MOD series, it's a personal thing ) with my little amps.