Speaker Cab help

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Festofish, May 26, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Festofish

    Festofish Tele-Meister

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Hey all, I normally run a Carvin Legacy into an Egnater 4x12. The cab is stereo capable. I’ve run a single line@16 ohm and double lines@8 ohms from the head to it before With no issues. Running two lines from the head to the cab isn’t stereo but does widen the field. So to take advantage of some stereo effects, I hooked up a Harley Benton pedal sized Stereo amp. It sounded very muffled. I set it back up running one cable@16ohm and got nothing. Set it up running 2@8ohm and nothing. Thoughts? Effects chain didn’t change. It’s a VN412A cab. Any help would be great.
     
  2. W.L.Weller

    W.L.Weller Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    Queens
    Which Harley Benton pedal sized stereo amp?

    When you say "I set it back up running one cable...," you mean you connected the Carvin Legacy amp to the Egnater cabinet again? And now there is no sound coming from the cabinet?
     
    PhredE likes this.
  3. Festofish

    Festofish Tele-Meister

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Thunder 99. Yup it worked fine with the head then muffled with the HB then nothing when switched back to the head. Power was off and ohms were triple checked. They HB doesn’t have an ohm selector but says it’ll work with 4, 8 and 16ohm loads.
     
  4. W.L.Weller

    W.L.Weller Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    678
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    Queens
    Do the amps work with a different speaker? Have you tried different speaker cables? Do you have a multi-meter that you could use to test the total DC resistance of the cabinet, and/or the continuity of the speaker cables?
     
    TheGoodTexan and PhredE like this.
  5. TheGoodTexan

    TheGoodTexan Moderator Staff Member Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    17,345
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Admin Post
    Electrically, running one cable from the amp or two... you’re not presenting anything different to the amp. It’s still seeing the cabinet as identically the same... unless you’re inadvertently going from 16 ohms to 4 ohms with the second cable (which would give you more output).

    What you put in front of the amp has zero to do with this. You’re not even running a dual mono setup (which is what most guitar players refer to as stereo). You’re actually and truly doing a straight mono setup... no matter what you put in front of the amp, or what wires you run from the amp to the cabinet.
     
    PhredE likes this.
  6. PhredE

    PhredE Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Suburban PDX, OR
    Here is the Thomann product description page:
    https://www.thomannmusic.com/harley_benton_custom_line_thunder_99.htm

    Class D power amps usually handle the varying loads (4-16ohms) pretty robustly.

    Sorry, dumb bonehead questions to eliminate the obvious..
    Checked power supply to the Thunder 99?
    Checked cables/connectors?
    Is the test straight (only the amp) to the speaker cab?

    The QC on electronics from you-know-where these days is rather meager -- maybe send it back ( ugh!, I know..) and ask for a replacement if the problem doesn't sort itself out fast (?)

    Update:
    Based on the reviews posted on the Thomann site, it appears that problems like yours are not totally unique. Some of the complaints point to the power supply and/or grounding issues. You might investigate more in those areas.
     
  7. PhredE

    PhredE Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Suburban PDX, OR
    Class D (SS) output is listed as:

    (2)x 50 WRMS into 4ohm load,
    so approx 2x25WRMS into 8 ohm load
    and approx 2x13WRMS into 16 ohm load.

    Class D (and most SS) amps don't clip (overload) gracefully; if your signal is really potent going in and you lay into a powerchord or the like with volumes all turned up you might get to a clipping situation with the amp.

    You have a DVM (Digital voltage meter) or the like?
    That would be really useful here, because you could:
    *check continuity of the cables (see if they were shorted somehow)
    *check voltage output of power supply
    *check resistance of the cabinet wiring / connected speakers
    *(etc)
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2020
  8. TheGoodTexan

    TheGoodTexan Moderator Staff Member Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    17,345
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Admin Post
    Disregard some of my previous post, as I didn’t fully catch this part...

    Where in your chain, from your guitar output to your speakers did you insert this stereo amp? And where in the chain was the Carvin amp?
     
    PhredE likes this.
  9. PhredE

    PhredE Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Suburban PDX, OR
    Indeed. I was just thinking of the same..

    To OP: Have you tested it with just Guitar >Thunder99 (mono or stereo)> Speaker cab ?
    If it doesn't work in this scenario, the amp is the culprit and does not work.

    Update 2:20pm --

    According to the Egnater site, there is this curious reference in the cab description:
    http://www.egnateramps.com/EgnaterProducts/Vengeance/Vengeance412A.html

    Automatic Impedance Sensing Terminal Plate
    4Ω& 16 Ω Mono
    8Ω Stereo

    Hmmm, this could be something that is part of the mix -- so to speak.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2020
  10. Festofish

    Festofish Tele-Meister

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    The Carvin wasn’t in the loop with the HB at all. I tried different Speaker cables and quadruple checked all cables involved.
     
    PhredE likes this.
  11. PhredE

    PhredE Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Suburban PDX, OR
    No output at all just going from Guitar>Thunder 99> Cabinet?
    (eg; no pedals/effect at all; just guitar > guitar cable > HB amp > speaker cable > cab)
    What happens then?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2020
  12. Festofish

    Festofish Tele-Meister

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I just received a Vox MV AC/1x8” cab package. I switched over to the 412 and nothing. Back to the 1x8 and I’m rockin. So it has to be a cabinet issue. Where would I start?
     
  13. PhredE

    PhredE Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Suburban PDX, OR
    So, you did (?):

    Guitar > Guitar cable > MV AC > Speaker cable > 412

    Produces no audible output (?)

    But,

    Guitar > Guitar cable > MV AC > Speaker cable > MV speaker

    Works ok?

    If it were me (and I'll admit I am not familiar with your cabinet at all), the first thing I would do is to pull the back off and check wires and connections.
    With a digital multimeter, you could read the resistance to get an idea of what is going on without having to pull the back off.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2020
  14. Festofish

    Festofish Tele-Meister

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Thanks all! I’ll get my hands on a meter.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.