1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Sound engineer rant

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by sir humphrey, Feb 22, 2014.

1. sir humphrey

sir humphrey Friend of Leo's

I'll start off by saying sound engineers have a tough job, especially dealing with egotistical musicians in the day job.

But tonight the guy at our gig was a word I can't use on this forum without being banned.

The moment we walked through the door he handed our drummer - unprompted - a list of the "names" he'd worked with. It went downhill from there.

He was condescending and arsey at every turn - including claiming we wanted to be able to hear each other in the monitors on a very large stage because "we were used to dealing with amateurs and I am a pro" and refusing to eq my resonator the way I wanted it because I "didn't know what I was talking about".

Just as we were going on stage he grabbed our drummer and refused to let him go until he'd told him how he was flying out to Japan tomorrow to work with Roger Daltrey!

Anyhow, gig went well considering - apart from appalling feedback on the reso and poor on stage monitoring.

After the gig we did the usual shaking hands with the punters on the way out, and they were all very nice and positive apart from a few comments on the reso sound and feedback.

At the end of the night I went over to the sound guy and shook has hand, said "Thanks for your work tonight. Good luck with Roger Daltry. At least he doesn't play a resonator".

We'll be playing the same theatre again next year. I've already requested that they use a different sound guy.

Rant over!

2. Tony474

Tony474 Poster Extraordinaire Platinum Supporter