Songwriting - A rant

FuzzWatt

Tele-Holic
Songwriting always seems to go the same way for me - I start off with a strong riff/chord progression, then I begin trying to link it to other parts, I get seized with indecision, I get upset with myself and the process in general, then I walk away irritated with nothing accomplished.

I've been playing and making music for twenty years. I knew not long after I started that music and arts was not my strong suit. I excelled in math and science as a kid. Things that had order, reason, and a solid sense of right and wrong. When it came to the arts - areas where personal choice, free thinking, and abstract concepts trumped order and reason, I floundered. I've always resented this about myself, and I've tried to change it - to no avail. I'm hardwired the way I am.

I have countless files of riffs and bits I've recorded going back 10 years. I've always planned on turning what I can into a nice little EP, but I just can't. I can't for the life of me complete a single song. I don't suppose it'll ever change.

geoff_in_nc

Friend of Leo's
You sound a lot like me. I went through a short period in college where I wrote a few songs to completion and put them down on a Portastudio. They were mostly all amusing efforts more than solid songs. Otherwise I can't write to save my life. I've come to accept it, though I don't like it.

I often think I'd like to build a bedroom studio, but I know it would be more about collecting equipment than making new music.

FuzzWatt

Tele-Holic
You sound a lot like me. I went through a short period in college where I wrote a few songs to completion and put them down on a Portastudio. They were mostly all amusing efforts more than solid songs. Otherwise I can't write to save my life. I've come to accept it, though I don't like it.

I often think I'd like to build a bedroom studio, but I know it would be more about collecting equipment than making new music.