Something has me curious. (Guitar theory)

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by WetBandit, Feb 18, 2019.

1. WetBandit

WetBandit Friend of Leo's

I'm not highly educated when it comes to music theory in fact I don't know hardly any.

That being said, I am a decent player.

I'm curious if someone more educated or qualified than myself, could tell me how it is that I can play almost anything, but not have a clue what I'm actually playing.

I dont know what the names of any chords are past the first position, but I use them all and frequently, and I can pick up on most things really fast.

It's really weird to me... and the friend of mine who brought it to my attention and made me think about it.

I've spent the last 21yrs playing guitar on a daily basis, and I have little to any real knowledge about how I do it.

My buddy claims that I know more than I think I do, I'm just unaware of it (how?)

So, if anyone knows, how is it that I can play and not have a clue?

It's not that I'm not interested in actually learning, I just don't know where to start.

2. Jim622

Jim622 Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

You have a good ear.

3. Artslap

Artslap Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Maybe two good ears.

4. WetBandit

Maybe so? Would that really explain it though?

5. Bluego1

Bluego1 Tele-Holic

Or whoever told him he was a decent player doesn’t;). I’m guessing autocorrect got him. He’s actually a docent player. The old ladies he plays for think he’s gawd.

noah330, MuddyDitch and Jim622 like this.
  6. Random1643

Random1643 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter