Solarez Grain Filler

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Clintstone, Oct 4, 2019.

1. Clintstone

Clintstone Tele-Meister

So I bought some of this stuff to try on some Black Limba that has moderate size grain and I am blown away by this product. Not only does it fill grain, but I had a few bug holes in this piece ( about 1/16") one drop in each hole and I can barely find the holes after. But that's not even the best part, you just wipe this on, walk out in the sun for 2 minutes and then sand away. I did 2 coats in half an hour including sanding. 20191004_164105.jpg

old wrench and wadeeinkauf like this.
  2. wadeeinkauf

wadeeinkauf Tele-Holic

Congratulations on finding a great crystal clear filler sealer….That takes 5 minutes to “cure” in sunlight. In 1 or 2 hours or less you can be ready to put on a clear coat. I have been working with Solarez for 3 years and always recommend it in my posts. With Solarez you will be set for a fantastic top coat with fewer coats because the prep will already be dead smooth. Maybe we will encourage others to try it.

Wade

3. sleazy pot pie

sleazy pot pie Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Where do you purchase from?

Could you tint it and use it as a stand alone finish?

4. Clintstone

Clintstone Tele-Meister

I ordered it online right from their website. They do sell a topcoat called "I Cant Believe it's not Lacquer" I have a bottle of it as well but haven't had a chance to try it yet. I am going to test it out on a maple neck soon to see how it feels.

John Nicholas likes this.
  5. RatBug

RatBug Tele-Meister

I use it for fly tying.

6. old wrench

old wrench Tele-Holic

I'm pretty happy with where I'm at using lacquer, but I'm very open to trying a product that gives a similar finish and is more friendly to Mother Nature.

Looking forward to seeing how well the finish product works out for you.

7. wadeeinkauf

wadeeinkauf Tele-Holic