Solar thermal.

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by imwjl, Nov 20, 2019.

1. imwjl

imwjl Poster Extraordinaire

2. Obsessed

Obsessed Telefied Ad Free Member

Geez, what a concept. Hello. I have been doing this for 22 years with my homemade batch solar water heating system. My parents were doing the same in the 1970s.

Edit: In before the lock. Just sayin':D

3. joeford

joeford Friend of Leo's

how sad (and true) about the "in before the lock". i don't understand the controversy around green energy. even if you're still holding onto beliefs completely discredited by mainstream science for 40 years now... it's cheaper. especially when you're talking about passive solar like your batch heater... seems like a no brainer

4. imwjl

That's a far cry from 1000 C. I was intending to be controversial. I think it's pretty amazing if we have a foundry or pavement plant powered by the sun.

matmosphere likes this.
  5. joeford

joeford Friend of Leo's

telestratosonic and imwjl like this.
  6. Skydog1010

Skydog1010 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Mr. Bill hits another home run.

imwjl likes this.
  7. imwjl

I remember as kids looking in parents, friends and grandparents drawers for most powerful magnifying glass. That dude has is beat.

8. joeford

joeford Friend of Leo's

i was looking for a documentary about a giant solar chimney being built in Africa that powered a turbine at the top. it looked like a nuclear power station... it was huuuuge... and it cranked out thousands of degrees in temp towards the base to power the upwards wind speeds...

then i stumbled across that video instead... and now I'm 99% sure I'll be looking for a big projector TV to take apart next summer...

i can't believe those parents let their kids anywhere near that thing!!

9. Obsessed