So You Wanna Make a Compound Scarf Joint...

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Ripthorn, Apr 8, 2020.

1. Ripthorn

Ripthorn Tele-Afflicted

As I'm working on my Cepheid 5 bass, one thing I wanted to make sure I did on this build is to cut a compound scarf joint. These are used on multiscale instruments where the headstock angle breaks just behind the nut the whole way along the slanted nut line. Instructions on how to make them are few and far between, and usually just buried in a build thread somewhere. Nothing wrong with that, but from all of my research, there isn't a treatment singularly on cutting the scarf joint. I was told there was an article in American Lutherie at one point, but it's a subscription article.

So, as a trained experimental physicist, I decided that I really wanted to understand what was going on. After I did, I thought I should post something that people can reference for a straightforward, illustrated reference, but also with equations to eliminate a bunch of guesswork and trial and error (NOTE: I'm not responsible for any error :)). But before we get going, there are three (3) primary ways a compound scarf can be safely cut for a guitar or bass neck:

• Table saw with tilted blade
    • Band saw with tilted table
    • Router on sled wedges
    My approach here will work with both the table saw and band saw, though examples are shown on the table saw because that is how I chose to do it.

My requirements were to get the headstock and neck shaft from the same board with minimal waste. A lot of the recommendations online are to simply put the compound angle on the neck shaft and use a solid block for the headstock. That's cool and I have no issue with it, but my neck blank was not sufficiently long to do this, thus the approach for minimized waste. I haven't tried it on a laminated neck, but this may work for it, it would be cool if someone gave it a whirl at some point.

Basic Information