So this is weird... any ideas?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Jakedog, Jun 30, 2020.

  1. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,601
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    I have a Marshall Origin 20 combo.

    I have a TC Electronic HOF mini pedal I use for reverb with this amp.

    I generally run everything right into the front end. Of any amp. My whole life. Always have. I’ve tried loops, but I always tend to think everything sounds better in the front end.

    Decided to try the loop on the Origin with the HOF mini.

    It gives me zero reverb. Amp sounds exactly the same. It doesn’t have any effect on it whatsoever... except...

    It causes feedback. It starts very low, and gets louder and louder until that all you hear. Even with no guitar plugged in. But no reverb... I thought maybe I had the cables backward, even though I checked them many times. So I switched them. It does the exact same thing.

    Unplugged the pedal, while leaving both cables just hanging out of the loop jacks, and the amp functions perfectly. Pedals in front, amp functions perfectly. Anything in the loop produces zero effect. It just causes feedback. Starts very low, then gets louder and louder until that’s all there is...

    I welcome your armchair diagnoses.
     
  2. telepraise

    telepraise Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    Why change what you've always done if it works? I use the HOF in front of my Fenders and it sounds great!
     
    Jakedog likes this.
  3. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,601
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    I absolutely agree. Just weird that the FX loop functions (or rather doesn’t function) that way.
     
  4. aleski

    aleski TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Location:
    The Know
    I got one from very deep in the armchair: is the loop tube-driven?
     
    Jakedog likes this.
  5. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,601
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    I do not know, but I don’t believe so... I suppose it could be.

    I checked all the tubes. None are even remotely microphonic. All are in prefect working order.
     
  6. Obsessed

    Obsessed Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    24,347
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Montana
    Have you tried a different pedal in the f/x loop, just to make sure it is operational?
     
    nojazzhere and Jakedog like this.
  7. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,601
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    It does the same thing with any pedal I put in the loop. Doesn’t matter what it is. I’ve never seen a loop do this. It’s very odd. It doesn’t really worry me that much. As I said, I don’t really ever use a loop. But it would be nice if it worked if I really needed it.
     
  8. Rockhead

    Rockhead Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    Delaware County, PA
  9. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,601
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    stormsedge likes this.
  10. Rockhead

    Rockhead Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    Delaware County, PA
    Glad I could help, that is if it works!
     
    Jakedog likes this.
  11. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,601
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    Well I left the amp at the rehearsal space. No gigs right now. So I’ll know in about a week!
     
  12. bcorig

    bcorig Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Location:
    In the 909
    I love this site.
     
    Deeve and Jakedog like this.
  13. dogmeat

    dogmeat Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    1,671
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Location:
    Alaska
    first thought is the loop is pooched. but maybe the pedal will make it better. let us know
     
    Jakedog likes this.
  14. homesick345

    homesick345 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,851
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Location:
    Beirut, Lebanon
    short in the loop of some kind take the amp for repair
     
  15. El Marin

    El Marin Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain, EU
    I have an Origin50. You NEED the pedal.
     
  16. jimbo735

    jimbo735 Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,370
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    20200701_054930.jpg
    :D
     
    Jakedog likes this.
  17. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,601
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    I’ll try the foot switch next time I’m at the rehearsal space. That’s a freakin weird design. And I really don’t understand the point of it. But it is what it is.
     
    MickM likes this.
  18. El Marin

    El Marin Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain, EU
    Not to me. I don't use the loop, so why having it ON? I have tried just with a patch cable, the result is negligible... I have used a tuner trough the loop Good result.

    Sometimes, if the gig is too punk, squat houses and many people jumping and pogo-ing I don't take out any pedal and only use the Origin pedal. Then I put the tuner over the amp trough the loop.

    Sometimes I use a slap back echo delay to rockabilly... Switch is OK if you don't want it to be ON
     
  19. Dougsguitarland

    Dougsguitarland TDPRI Member

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Location:
    Slidell La
    Send it to Jack White he would love it or lick it. lol dang I give all my good ideas away.
     
  20. Dacious

    Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,508
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Godzone
    You could use a shorting jack to leave it permanently 'on'. My Marshalls have a parallel fx loop and it's meh. I just find it easier to go in the front. For recording you might be better off. Live playing I can't pick a difference except for distortions which are worse in the loop.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.