1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

So much confusion for someone new!

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Rob L, May 26, 2020.

1. Rob L

Rob L Tele-Meister

Before I start I'd like to say my confusion has not been caused but the folks here. They gave me honest opinions. Some helped some didn't. That's the nature of things. My confusion stems from the web itself and I'm sure is the reason I'm having so many issues and had to trash one body already and may lose another.

I've never used stain/dye/ink before. So like many I hit the web to try and learn. All that did was confuse me more!
    I hit youtube, searched out sites and everyone seems to say something different.
    Sanding sealer..when to use it. When not to use it. How to use.

Sanding sealer: Oh hi Mr. Guitar building guy use it before you stain! NO, use it after you stain! No that's wrong only use it for bare wood that isn't getting stain. One person says one thing, one site says another. One pro company says this yet another says that. Oh if you use sanding sealer stain won't take to the body. No that guy's wrong of course it will take to the body. No both are wrong. And don't forget to dry sand. NO! it's wet sand.

Pre-conditioner: Hi again Mr guitar builder guy! Use it on raw wood so stain won't be blotchy. No No No use it with sanding sealer. No they are both wrong you don't need either just sand and stain! And don't forget to dry sand. NO! it's wet sand.

Oil-vs-water: Back again I see Mr guitar builder. You're just a glutton for punishment aren't you!? Of course you can mix the two. No he's wrong use one or the other. No they are both wrong. Your stain/dye/ink will act as a finish. Just slap some car wax on it. And don't forget to dry sand. NO! it's wet sand.