So... I'm going to try it again. A LP Double cut or other...

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by mjr428, May 25, 2016.

1. mjr428

mjr428 Tele-Meister

The first guitar I built was a T-style with P-90's that was built from pine and mdf, dano style I guess. So now that I've caught the bug, I wanted to start a new project. My whole thing is that I don't want to spend a lot of money on materials etc... well, because I'm still learning and not a skilled wood worker. So I've been scrounging materials together from scraps at work and setting out to build a les paul jr double cut with 24" scale set neck. I was able to purchase some inexpensive humbuckers from Amazon for about $1.50 and I've spent maybe $6 on some poplar pieces for the top and fingerboard. Again, this will be my first attempt at building a neck from scratch, so I'm just using this as a learning process and hopefully I'll get a functioning guitar at the end. I wanted to make a short scale guitar because my wife used to play guitar and she misses her old Jaguar.... So I'm hoping that maybe she'll pick it up again.
    20160218_202424.jpg
    Here is a picture of the materials I'll be using. 2x4's for the body and some laminated poplar sticks. I was able to get some metal from work as well to make a truss rod. I want to make as much as I can for this guitar... 1). I want to learn as much as I can about the building process and 2). I don't want to spend money...

Here's a picture of the truss rod I built

20160411_201157.jpg

By the way, any advise, comments etc. is always welcome. Did I mention that I'm learning...?

2. mjr428

mjr428 Tele-Meister

I cut the shape out with a jigsaw and built a jig to use my router to plane the top and bottom of the body

20160317_112237.jpg

I don't have a lot of tools, so I'm doing the best with what I have. I don't have money to buy the tools that I would like to have, so I'm finding ways around that by building jigs that kind of work.

20160317_113705.jpg