Size zero debate - How thin is too thin?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Hutchwearing6, Oct 29, 2015.

1. Hutchwearing6

Hutchwearing6 TDPRI Member

Hello all.

I'm looking to draw on the collective wit and wisdom of TDPRIers to turn my guitar pipe dream into reality. I have big plans to try and build my son an electric guitar. Nothing too fancy, just enough to get him hooked (and give me a decent practise before I build one for myself).

We've taken out a fireplace from our lounge and so I have an unexpected supply of 25mm thick mahogany, we think. My question - how does this drive the neck joint? I'm thinking it's thick enough for a neck or for a small body. Can I get a bolt on neck to work with this (preferred given I've no experience to speak of)? The other thing I'm wondering is whether I can avoid needing a truss rod. Plan is 4 string electric, 15 inch scale (or thereabouts), and no separate fretboard if I can avoid it. Will see how I can post a sketch.

Any help much appreciated
    C

2. String Tree

String Tree Doctor of Teleocity

25mm is pretty thin. But with a small Scale Neck, it might just work.

3. rolloman

rolloman Tele-Holic

Thick enough for a neck. That would be a thin body. You mentions 15" scale or so. Make sure you understand the physics between how scale length, number of frets and the space between frets are all interrelated when you start planning the neck? All of that is so that the pitch will change the correct amount from fret to fret up and down the fretboard.

4. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Silver Supporter

SG's are 1-5/16 to 1-3/8" thick. If you had a neck through design, I think you could go thinner depending if you used slide switches instead of a toggle or lever. You could always use some of the wood and make a top for it.

5. Engraver-60

Engraver-60 Friend of Leo's