1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Singing while playing

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by xtelesquirex, Oct 21, 2020.

1. xtelesquirex

xtelesquirex Tele-Holic

How? I can't make it work. I either focus on trying to sing and my playing goes out the window or focus on my playing and can't sing. How can I break through?

2. ArcticWhite

ArcticWhite Tele-Afflicted

Go slow.
    Really slow..

Break it down so that you are just working on a couple lines with a few simple chord changes.

I started playing at age 30, so it took a while longer than it would if I was a kd.

But now it is second nature. I play fingerstyle and sing easily.

Go slow, like 30 bpm. And keep your sessions short but frequent. 10 minutes a couple times a day if possible.

bcorig, nomadh, jem7sk and 7 others like this.
  3. Pineears

Pineears Tele-Afflicted

Practice one Easy song for a good while. Put the lyrics and chord changes in front of you. Play just guitar till you got it down good. Then alternate concentration between singing and chording during this song. Keep practicing this one song.

4. Peegoo

Peegoo Poster Extraordinaire

Anyone that says it's easy has been doing it for a while.

It's certainly not easy when first starting out, because it's exactly like rubbing your stomach while patting the top of your head: the more you practice, the easier it gets.

After years of doing it, I can play guitar and sing well enough. But play bass and sing? Impossible! o_O

The reason it's impossible is because I have not done much of that at all. There's always so much more to learn.