Show your GFS body projects!

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by mulic3, Dec 5, 2013.

1. mulic3

mulic3 Tele-Meister

Does anybody have any experience with those?
    I would like to replace my blacktop body in order to use the bridge pickup with a standard bridge plate and not the plastic thingy I got, which is out of place:
    [​IMG]
    Will they fit mim tele neck? Please share some pics!

2. marsh99

marsh99 Tele-Afflicted

I did this Esquire recently with a GFS body and a Fender spec neck (not an actual Fender neck). Despite what they say on their website, the parts are not a good fit. String through holes on my body were out of alignment as were the neck screw holes. Made it work though and i'm happy with it - one good thing is that they are very lightweight bodies. There is quite a bit of discussion on this forum about GFS bodies if you do a search. By the way, I'm referring to the Paulownia wood bodies that GFS do - I have no experience with their ash bodies. Here's the Esquire:

PB120199.jpg

3. chipbutty24

chipbutty24 Friend of Leo's

You are likely better off with what you have rather than trying to make a GFS work. ^^^^

4. marsh99

marsh99 Tele-Afflicted

Yeah, i would stick with what you have. Maybe look at other options for modding the bridge without changing the body?

5. PumpJockey

PumpJockey Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

I built a partscaster out of one of their ash bodies and everything fit. YMMV.

6. Coach56

Coach56 One of the Boys

I am just starting a project using the "white double bound" body. So far the neck screws are off a bit and the thru body holes are not lined up. Mrs Coach just ordered me a set of Ron's templates, I can't wait to lay one on the body and see where things really end up.

I am still excited about the project, but it may be a little more work then I was planning on. You can follow it here. http://www.tdpri.com/forum/other-t-types-partscasters/442207-new-project-white-tuxedo-build.html

-Harry