Should I consider an upgrade to Logic Pro?

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by catdaddy, Jul 12, 2019.

1. catdaddy

catdaddy Tele-Holic

I'm relatively new to computer based recording (but not recording in general). Bought my first Mac back in January, and started using Garageband. I'm a singer/songwriter who generally works alone, playing multiple instruments and singing all the vocal parts myself. I've also found the built-in drummer in Garageband to be an easy-to-use and great sounding addition to my recordings. In general, I've been very pleased with the results I've gotten using Garageband, but I'm wondering if I'm missing out on improving my recordings by not upgrading to Logic Pro. What does Logic offer that would make a noticeable difference in the results I'm getting?

In general I don't utilize midi instruments, loops or any synth generators. My arrangements are usually straight-ahead rock, folk, country and blues genres. So, my question to those of you who have some experience with both Garageband and Logic is whether I should spend the $200 to upgrade to Logic or would I be better off spending that money on something else (such as the Nectar 3 vocal suite) which has a dedicated use for upgrading a specific element in my recording process?

Any and all opinions and insights are most welcome. Thanks!

2. Whatizitman

Whatizitman Tele-Afflicted

$200 is a lot of dough for something you aren't sure you will need. In reality, you won't know what you'll need until you need it. That's just how recording and production is.

$200 would be better spent on outboard gear (mics, pres, etc...), IMO.

My approach is generally to see what I can do with what I have available first, before making any large purchases and/or upgrades. Factor not just cost, but also time for learning curve. Good recordings are not done with expensive pro gear just because it's expensive pro gear. It takes experience and tool knowledge to make a good recording.