Short scale bass for playing with pick

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by PRW94, May 26, 2018.

1. PRW94

PRW94 Tele-Meister

I've been playing guitar for close to 50 years but have only ever "fooled around" with a bass. However, the worship leader at church has asked if I'd consider sitting in on bass at least in a part-time capacity. Quite frankly, there are better guitarists than me at church.

I'm inclined to do it, so I'm looking for a cheap but good bass (at least to start with, if this develops I might trade up).

I want a short-scale to facilitate coming over from guitar. Plus I'm vertically challenged and have very short arms, and every full-scale bass I've ever tried to play has just felt horribly awkward to me and I don't want to do a Bill Wyman deal as far as holding it.

I've narrowed my choices down to:

Ibanez Mikro Bass
    Ibanez Talman TMB30
    Gretsch Junior Jet 2202 or 2220
    Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Special SS

I'm going to toss out another "which would you choose" SOS with one variable ... I will almost certainly be playing with a pick. Would any of the basses I've mentioned be particularly conducive to that?

Honestly, in my heart of hearts I'd probably prefer a Hofner Icon, even though I know it's kind of one note, I just really like that note, that woody thump. (Second variable, can any of the basses I've mentioned get into that neighborhood?) I'm just not willing to put even Hofner Icon money into something right now, I'm looking at $250 investment tops.

Dinghis and DHart like this.
  2. LowCaster

LowCaster Tele-Afflicted

Bass with a pick? Are you playing old school Punk music at your church?

I’m looking for a short scale bass too, and leaning toward the Squier Bronco bass, because I like it’s look. It’s one of the least expensive, but many comments suggest that you might want to upgrade the pickup and tuners (though some say they do the job).