Shoring up with lessons later in life?

KW1977

Tele-Holic
Has anyone of the self taught variety taken lessons to shore up the gaps in their skillset later in life? I’m almost entirely self taught. I mean some friends showed me a few tricks when I was young but no formal lessons to speak of. I was blessed with a pretty decent ear & tenacious fingers which together carried me quite a ways. I started at 16 or so, now knocking on 45,…and I’m reeeeeeally regretting not taking lessons or learning my propers early on.

I feel way too feral and uneducated, like everything I’m searching for on the fretboard would be much easier to grasp and had I gone the Mel Bay/schoolmarm route early on, and maybe I’d be closer to my playing desires. Eg; I was a rock guy for a long time, started with the cowboy and power chords in the 90’s, but I thought lessons would taint my creativity and make me a banal player. So I never learned scales, theory, et al. Never truly learned from the masters. Really took the hard, craggy route and now I’m lamenting my weaknesses in soloing, songwriting & structure, et al.

Nowadays I’m far more wowed by “traditional” players. For instance I just saw Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives last weekend and I’m still just utterly floored by it. Chet Atkins Jitterbug Waltz blows me away now more than any rock riffage. Brian Setzer is a massive fave. Anyone else find themselves in this position? Was it hard to teach an old dog new tricks or turn your playing around?

Last edited:

Flat6Driver

Poster Extraordinaire