1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Seymour Duncan Antiquity Humbucker magnet swap? School me...

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by jonrpick, Oct 19, 2020.

1. jonrpick

jonrpick Friend of Leo's

Hi all... I looking for some advice here. I'm new to magnet swapping and I'm hoping I can tweak a pickup with a new magnet rather than replacing the whole thing.

I have a set of Duncan Antiquities in a LP clone. I have 3 similar guitars, and this one is the lightest and most resonant. I feel like too much low end is being lost to the body's resonance, leading to weak, indistinct bass tones on the neck pickup. To compare, the other two LPs are both noticeably heavier, but to be fair, they also have different neck pickups in them (a GFS Mean 90 in one, a Duncan Alnico II Pro in the other), but this same set of pickups sounded much bolder in a previous guitar (which was also heavier), so I know it's the guitar and not the pickup.

Anyway... The Antiquities have degaussed A2 magnets in stock form. The Alnico II Pro in another guitar sounded bigger, but I'd like a tad more, so I was considering A4 or A5. I tend to like a lot of clarity and snap in a neck pickup, so I was thinking of skipping over the A4 in favor of the A5. Would that possibly put me in the ballpark? What's the sonic difference between UOA5 and A5? I seem to have seen a reference to long vs short magnets; would one be preferable over the other?